Agenda Item: How to Prevent the Cyber Warfare

Under Secretary General: Ahmet Arda Taşkireç

Academic Assistants: Bora Gedikli & Aruzhan Aisina

United Nations General Assembly’s First Committee, DISEC, is one of the most important and central bodies of the United Nations. The First Committee deals with the issues that are related to disarmament problems, international security on a global scale and security problems threating the national and international peace. The committee considers all of the disarmament and international security problems within the scope of the UN Charter or relating to the powers and functions of any other organ of the United Nations. The general principles of cooperation in the maintenance of international peace and security, as well as principles governing disarmament and the regulation of armaments; promotion of cooperative arrangements and measures aimed at strengthening stability through lower levels of armaments.
The aim of the committee is to maintain international peace and security with the actions taken by the member states. These actions can be either internal or external actions that are generally ordered by reports with suggestions like reducing the firepower in specific conflict zones or operations. Since DISEC is a General Assembly Committee, its power to take decisions is restricted. The most powerful authority is to inform and provide necessary establishments or authorities about agenda item-related events and operations.